President Buhari sends message to newly sworn-in members of National Assembly

President Buhari has sent a message to tge newly sworn-in leaders of the 9th National Assembly which was inaugurated yesterday.

The inauguration saw Ahmad Lawan and Ovie Omo-Agege emerging Senate President and Deputy Senate President respectively.

Femi Gbajabiamila became the Speaker of the House of Representatives while Idris Waise emerged Deputy Speaker.

Reacting to the news, President Muhammadu Buhari issued the below statement via Twitter.

“I congratulate the newly elected presiding officers of the Ninth National Assembly. Congratulations also to all national legislators and their political parties for the display of patriotism and non-partisanship before and during today’s elections.

The transparent and fair nature of the voting process is commendable; a plus for democracy in Nigeria.

Today marks a new dawn, different from the duplicity and perfidy of the immediate past.

We all, including today’s winners, must use our exalted positions for the higher interest of Nigeria, her people, and for the growth of our democracy.

Let me make it clear that the Executive does not desire a rubber stamp Legislature. And while separation of powers is essential, collaboration among all Arms of Government should be the name of the game. Opposition need not be virulent.

Stepping into the Next Level, the legislature has a big role to play for the goals of our administration to be achieved, and for the ultimate good of the nation.

I urge all contestants who lost out to be gallant in defeat, and to join hands with the victors. And to the victors, I urge you to exhibit magnanimity. At the end of the day, we, the people, who elected our representatives at the national level, are the winners”.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button