9th National Assembly Inauguration: Ahmed Lawan Emerges Senate President

Senator Ahmed Lawan has emerged the winner of the NASS elections.

He will chair the 9th Assembly of the Nigerian Senate.

Ahmed Lawan polled a total of 79 votes while Ali Ndume polled only 28 votes.

President Muhammadu Buhari had met with lawmakers-elect of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) ahead of the inauguration.

The Nigerian leader and the leadership of the APC backed Senator Lawan, from Yobe state, and Honourable Gbajabiamila, from Lagos state.

But despite the party’s position, Senator Ndume, from Borno state, and Honourable Bago, from Niger state, also gunned for the positions.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button